Motivational Monday – Forgetting the past!

blog edited

This weeks post is something I can guarantee a lot of us need to do weather we’d like to admit it or not, letting go of the past!

I don’t know about you guys but I’m awful at letting things go, not in terms of materialistic things but in terms of feelings and situations have a big effect on me and my life even if too others they’d mean nothing. Plenty would say I’m just over sensitive and I suppose I am but as the years pass I’m starting to realise that things in my past are becoming a road block in me moving forward even though these things/people are no longer part of my life.

quotes

I saw this quote and it made me really think about myself and sadly made me realise that I’ve probably been stuck in the past since I was about 15. Not by choice but because certain people in my past really effected how I see myself and made me believe I wasn’t good enough but by still thinking and dwelling on that I’ve not only let that person rob me of happiness in my past but I’m also letting them dictate my future happiness.

1943_1

So not matter what it is from the past that you’re holding onto be it a person, memories, bad experience or regrets, ask yourself something ‘Is it helping you or having a positive effect on your life? The probability is that it’s doing nothing but holding you back because while you’re still looking back at something that you can’t change, You’re missing out on all the amazing and special moments that you could be having in the here and now and also the ones that lay ahead in your future!

5887e4cf632122531c5e5212485eac1a

So I hope if you’re struggling with feelings or memories from your past then you will join me from this day forward to close that chapter and begin reading and enjoying the chapter of your life that lays ahead ❤

4 thoughts on “Motivational Monday – Forgetting the past!

  1. It’s all too easy to be bitter or to take something to heart and see yourself in that way for many years later. I think it’s human nature to remember negative things so to avoid them in the future but it can be truly overwhelming. I love the quote about not re-reading the same chapter and holding yourself back. There have been a lot of mistakes made in my life by adults who should have supported me (in a personal and professional capacity) but I’ve realised it wasn’t personal and has no bearing on my life these days so why dwell on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, I just realized I missed two posts in a row from you! How did I let this happen? College is just making it too difficult to catch up on all things WordPress.

    Letting go of the past is so important. It’s a complex process and it’s sometimes really confusing but I agree…it’s almost impossible to completely enjoy the present and look towards the future if you’re stuck in the past. At the same time, I find it really useful to look back and remind myself on how far I’ve come, especially if I’m having a bad day. However, I don’t really think that’s possible to do successfully until there’s a total disconnect from that past life.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if wordpress has been playing up a little lately but I don’t seem to be seeing every post either.

      Letting go of the past is a big thing and isn’t always easy at all to do but life can be so much better once you start forgetting the negativity of the past. Thanks Britta 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

