My driving adventures continued..

If you’ve followed my blog since the beginning then you will of seen my post in October about how I was taking driving lessons in a specially adapted car and as it’s one of the things I’m most proud of, I thought I’d do a follow up most to let you guys know how I’m getting on and explain a bit more about why driving is so important to me.

IMG_2988

Well it has been just over 3 months since I wrote that post and I am pleased to say that my driving and confidence on the roads is better than ever,Β I’ve been taking weekly lessons which have been going really well and my instructor thinks I’m only a couple more lessons off booking my test now. I’m beyond excited, I know every young person loves the idea of driving a nice car and impressing their friends but to me driving is a lot more than just a car, I can hand on heart say it will change my life for the better.

IMG_2990

As many of you will know having a disability means that walking or using public transport isn’t always easy which means I have to rely on my family to get me where I need to be which to be honest is horrible not only because I feel a huge amount of guilt for taking up my families time but also because I feel like a child having to ask my parents before I go out. It’s not just independence that i’ll gain once I can drive I’m also hoping it will open up so many positive doors for me as it means that if an opportunity comes up, I won’t have to turn it down because I can’t get there or it’s too early to get a lift. I will be able to take on every opportunity that life throws at me and I can’t wait to see what the future brings! If someone would’ve asked me when I first started driving if I thought I’d ever pass my test the answer would’ve definatly been no, not only because I was told I’d never be able to drive due to anxiety but also because it is really difficult having to remember all the rules and regulations. So guys hopefully a few more weeks and I will have my test booked which is something I wasn’t sure I’d ever be saying Wooo! πŸ˜€ for anyone who is taking lessons at the minute or planning to in the futureΒ Good luck & believe in yourself!Β πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “My driving adventures continued..

  1. Sounds so awesome that you’re driving! Hope you pass that test! As much as I hate relying on my family to get to places, I don’t think I can ever get myself to drive a car or van. Everybody feels safer that way too! Lol πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are doing fantastic! You must be a really quick study. I remember with my judgement and spacial awareness problems I scared the hell out of my instructor – oops! It is annoying to have to ask parents for a lift isn’t it. Kinda makes you feel 15 again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! & believe me I scared the hell out of myself and my instructor when I first started poor co ordination can be scary when driving but thankfully I’m getting there now πŸ™‚ Yeah it’s not good definitely like being a kid again so the sooner I pass the better x

      Like

  3. Pingback: Just Some Links that I Love… | It's a Britta Bottle!

  4. How amazing for your independence! I’d love to be able to give it a shot, but like you I always imagine I’d be too anxious. Though I guess it’s something you overcome with practice! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

