It’s not you, it’s the world!

blog5

My mind well and truly boggles when it comes to any sort of hatred towards any individual weather that be rascism, sexism, disabledism or homophobia, to me a person is just a person no matter what there abilities, skin colour or sexual orientation. Nobody is perfect so what an earth gives anyone the right to judge another human being?

Along with many other people I have spent a lot of years throughtout my life being bullied for the person I am, which meant sadly I’ve always felt like I never truly fitted in and spent a lot of time trying to change who I am to become the worlds idea of ‘normal’. It sickens me that in 2015 people are still be victimised for being themselves but no matter who you’re there will always be some small minded individual, who will judge you weather that be for your race, religion, weight, hair colour or disability.

Earlier this week though I heard about the death of Leelah Alcorn and it shocked me so much, For those of you who don’t know Leelah Alcorn is a transgender teenager from America who came into the headlines after sadly taking her own life and leaving a suicide letter online. In this note Leelah blamed her parents for denying her feelings and forbidding her from transitioning they put her through months of counselling where she was told she wasn’t normal. I’ve grown up to expect discrimination from people who don’t know me or don’t know my situation but suffering hatred from the people who are meant to care and support you more than anyone in this world, your parents must be awful. I can’t imagine how Leelah must of felt, everybody has the right to be who they truly are and the world has lost a beautiful, intelligent young women in loosing Leelah and her parents should be forever ashamed of their pure evilness and small minded attitude towards there incredible daughter. R.I.P Leelah Alcorn ❤

blog6

Rest in peace Leelah! x

Luckily when we are younger we don’t always understand that to the world we’re ‘different’ but as soon as I was old enough to realise this I was determined to change the world. My absoloute dream would to be live in and bring my children into a world were they can be proud of who they’re and be free without fear of hatred or discrimination and as cliché as this sounds I will make it happen! I know it’s so easy to say but without action my dream will never become a reality, that s why I want to set up seemenotcp to raise awareness and help people realise that having a disability means nothing, we are all just human beings!

blog7

So guys please remember we all deserve happiness and you should never be ashamed of who you are, Go out and show the world that it can’t change you! 2015 is the year to stand up be counted and make a change!

3 thoughts on “It’s not you, it’s the world!

  1. Fantastic post, well said. So utterly sad that the people who should have supported and where responsible for Leelah where the ones who hurt her the most. There will always be ugly bullies in the world but I would like to think that in our society people are slowly becoming a little more open minded. The best way to beat them is, as you say, by being true to who you are. In my 20’s I tried to desperately change myself so I would look more ‘Western’ but it just felt and looked wrong, now I embrace how I look and it’s made such a difference!

    Like

    • Thank you! 🙂 It is awful that anyone should have to suffer like Leelah and others do but hopefully in time things will change for the better! Like you said I spent a lot of time trying to change who I was but once you just be yourself your true beauty will shine through! 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree that being true to you is the most important thing. I would not change a thing about me for anyone if someone tries to change you there better not having you in there lives.R.I.P leelah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

