You’re not alone – Depression & Anxiety

It’s not something I’d normally talk about on the internet but I’ve heard far too much recently about young people hurting or killing themselves because of this awful illness, that I feel I need to speak up!

So about 10 years ago I had a whole number of problems going on in my life and my emotions just exploded. It all started when I began washing my hands to the point of obsession all because I had these horrible feelings of getting sick, the hand washing just got worse to the point that my hands where bleeding because I’d washed them so much.

Everyone around me couldn’t see why I was washing my hands too them it was just stupid, it wasn’t just the hand washing though I went from a happy bubbly girl to someone who couldn’t go a day without crying! It was awful with each day that went on I went further and further into a downward spiral of dark depression! I couldn’t bring myself to get out of bed each morning, everything I’d previously loved doing became a chore I couldn’t leave my house without crying, panicking and being an absolute mess.

This went on for years going from councillor to doctors, nothing seemed to help, when was I ever going to get out of this hole?

I had no one around me who understood too them it was silly and selfish, it seemed no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t see a way out! In 2010 after years of still being depressed I met my boyfriend and even though I was still really down he made me see that there was a way out, if I just believed! So in 2012 I went back to the doctors and asked for my tablets to be changed and began C.B.T (cognitive behaviour therapy) slowly but surely things started to improve with the help of Michael and my therapy.

So now two years on I’m in a completely different place, going to C.B.T was the best thing I’ve ever done and for the first time in years I can see a positive future for myself and I’m detetmined that depression will not beat me!

So enough about me anyway I just wanted to write this blog so that people out there who might be suffering know that they aren’t alone! No matter how hard things get please just reach out and talk to someone. Things WILL get better and you can be HAPPY!

Never think that there is no other way out than too take your own life because I promise you, I’ve been there and it doesn’t have to be that way. You can go out there and get the life you deserve!

Be Strong, Be Happy and Be True To You! πŸ’‹πŸ‘Œ

Below I will post a list if links where you can get help:

http://www.mind.org.uk

http://www.rethink.org

http://www.depressionalliance.org

http://www.samaritans.org.uk

http://www.mind.org.uk

http://www.youngminds.org.uk

So if you’re struggling with depression there are plenty of organisations that can help or if you want to ask me anything I’m here to chat, You’re never alone! x

One thought on “You’re not alone – Depression & Anxiety

  1. Depression is a serious illness it can eat you up and spit you out if you let it. So whether it’s talking to your gp,seeing a counsellor taking medication or maybe you would rather speak to your God who ever that may be I urge get help your not alone and your not a failure your just in need of a little guidance so please ask for help. Life can get better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

